Alumni Life

Party of Twelve*

The 2017 UBAA Achievement Awards gave well-deserved recognition to a globe-trotting group of UB-affiliated notables. At Buffalo was at the ceremony to applaud them—and get their restaurant recommendations.

2017 UBAA Achievement Awards winners.

Photo: Onion Studios

Watch Video:

TOP ROW: Dean Seneca (Pricci in Atlanta, Ga.); Wayne Anderson (Bern’s Steak House in Tampa, Fla.); Michael Garz (Will BYOB in Philadelphia, Pa.); Hratch Kouyoumdjian (Chez Panisse in Berkeley, Calif.); Joel Lunenfeld (The French Laundry in Napa Valley, Calif.); Edward Dong (Legal Sea Foods in Boston, Mass.); James Smist (Piazza Duomo in Alba, Italy); Robert Genco (Siena in Snyder, N.Y.)
L. Nelson Hopkins (San Marco in Snyder, N.Y.); Juanita Hunter (Betty’s in Buffalo, N.Y.); Ram Kumar Krishnamurthy (Din Tai Fung in Taipei, Taiwan)

UBAA Achievement Awards Recipients:

Samuel P. Capen Award

James Smist (BS ’80), president and co-founder of management consulting firm Dean & Company

Philip B. Wels Outstanding Service Award

Wayne Anderson, dean emeritus of the UB School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Richard T. Sarkin Award for Excellence in Teaching

Robert Genco (DDS ’63), SUNY Distinguished Professor and director of the UB Microbiome Center

Clifford C. Furnas Memorial Award

Hratch Kouyoumdjian (MS ’70), founder and former president and CEO of the KPA Group, an engineering and architectural consulting practice

Community Leadership Award

Juanita Hunter (EdD ’83, MS ’74, BS ’71), retired UB community health educator and active volunteer

Walter P. Cooke Award

L. Nelson Hopkins, SUNY Distinguished Professor of Neurosurgery, founder of the Global Vascular Institute at Kaleida Health, the Jacobs Institute, and the Toshiba Stroke and Vascular Research Center

International Distinguished Alumni Award

Holger Schünemann (PhD ’00, MS ’97), chair of Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impact at McMaster University; research professor in the UB Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health
*not pictured

George W. Thorn Award

Joel Lunenfeld (BA ’99), vice president of global brand and creative strategy at Twitter

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Edward Dong (MBA ’91), founding chair of the U.S.-China committee of the International Leadership Foundation based in Washington, D.C.

Michael Garz (BA ’72), senior vice president at the design firm STV; design manager and project architect for the World Trade Center Transportation Hub

Ram Kumar Krishnamurthy (MS ’95), senior principal engineer at Intel

Dean Seneca (BA ’90), senior health scientist at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, president of the CDC’s American Indian/Alaska Native/Native Hawaiian Coalition