[Go back][Comment's][Archives][Help][Wings]

Two graduates receive alumni scholarships

Brion A. Scudder, B.S. '95, of Corning, NY, and Man Yin Yeung, B.S. '95, of New York City, are the 1995 recipients of the J. Scott Fleming Merit Awards, presented annually by the University Student Alumni Board. Funded by USAB student programs, the awards are based on excellence in extracurricular activities benefiting the university. Each honoree received a framed certificate and $250 during a May awards luncheon.

Formerly finance director of Sub-Board One, Scudder was also senior orientation programmer and academic affairs director of the Undergraduate Student Association. He developed a database for the Office of Academic Advising to help students determine their academic progress and learn more about degree requirements. He also lobbied state legislators for restorations to the SUNY budget, and helped found UB United, a coalition of student leaders who organized letter-writing campaigns, rallies and personal meetings with legislators.

Yeung was assistant treasurer of the Undergraduate Student Association, treasurer of the Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) Student Association, and a volunteer mentor for EOP, where she cofounded a newsletter. In addition, she organized a variety of Residence Life programs, the first multicultural talent show for UB students and an open forum with the Buffalo Police on university-community relations.

Honorable mention went to Abhilasha R. Singh, B.S. '96, of Williamsville, NY, and Thomasina R. Stenhouse of Buffalo, a Ph.D. candidate in the School of Management.


If you have any comments, questions, or would likemore information about
the Office of Publications' on-line projects, please e-mail ubinfo@pub.buffalo.edu